Not Dead Just Yet

So much for semi regular, this is just a quick update for those that are interested about things that have happened in the last month or so, most things people may know a lot people won’t.

Ok some people know this already but a lot of people don’t, next Tuesday the 18th I am up for an OSCA for Hampshire, for those of you who don’t know what it is it’s an Outstanding Service to Cricket Award in the Best Young Volunteer category, now as I’m writing this I’ve only just said I will attend the awards night as I really feel I don’t deserve it. Most people who know me know that I’m not good at accepting praise or support at the best of times but this year has been even harder for more to do so, a lot has gone on in my personal life that has had an affect on me mentally and at times has pushed me to breaking point. It’s partly why I don’t think I deserve to be nominated for this award as the job I do isn’t exactly an important one, all I do is sit down, watch a game of cricket, put numbers in a book and go home. There are a hell of a lot more people at my cricket club and no doubt every club that deserve more praise than I do.

This kind of leads on to what has cheered me up a little, 3 weeks ago I was approached by another cricket club who were willing to pay me to score games for them, the only downside being that they are in the arse end of nowhere and I don’t drive. However the offer that was made was head turning to say the least and raised the point that my club “Don’t know how lucky they are to have you”, it gave me something to wind up people at my club over so for the last two weeks saying that I was going to go and the mood changed from “I wouldn’t leave the oak, I wouldn’t burn the oak” to “Traitor, Judas, Mercenary, Easily Replaceable” so after laughing my ass off for a fortnight I feel I should now say that….. I turned down the offer the second it was offered to me. Look I won’t lie for the job I do being paid to do it would be nice but it’s not necessary, I’d feel like a mercenary I made my choice of clubs 5 years ago when I signed up at college for a Hampshire Cricket Board Programme (Yes it’s Greig’s fault I’m here guys). The other hand if this is something that has got me nominated for an award why would I want to go backwards or sideways if there’s a chance all be it a very small chance I could progress further and I don’t mean a higher SEPL team I mean like doing it for counties even internationals. I guess what I’m trying to say is you can stop calling me Judas now because you’re not getting rid of me that easy.

And lastly the bit I wasn’t sure about saying just yet but sod it, I’m staying South for the winter, a lot of people don’t know this but I’m now involved at an ice hockey club hopefully starting September 6th, I will be taking my scoring ‘talents’ to Gosport and be in the DJ booth for Solent Devils games, I was looking at getting involved in a hockey club and as soon as one that was local and wasn’t just looking for 50/50 helpers came up I jumped at the chance and they seem to keen have me anyway, it will cut down on the amount of games I get to go outside of Solent and probably the Indoor Cricket League but I am happy just being involved.

VivaLaNinja

One thought on “Not Dead Just Yet

Leave a Reply

